Guide: Improve your connection for online gaming

This section is read-only. Inactive threads for the past 5 years will be placed here. Also, game threads that are locked after creating its Official Thread will be here as well. If a new thread is created and an existing one is here, it will be merged. If a member wants to reply to one of the threads here, please ask an administrator or a moderator and it will be unlocked and moved to its proper section.
Tracer1
Primal Rage
Primal Rage

Taken from Kooper's thread from SRK.com... Link
Kooper of SRK.com wrote:Hello everyone, Kooper here with another (hopefully) useful guide/FAQ for all of you. As some of you may already know, I have a bachelors degree in Network Communications, and as such I happen to know a lot about how the tubes we call the internet work. So why does this matter? Well, I want to try and help you guys out with some networking. I'm making this thread not only as a guide to help you improve your connection, but also to help you understand the fundamentals behind how online gaming actually works, as well as a small lesson on the internet and security.

Online games today use the internet in order for players to play together in an online environment. You often hear about things on the internet, and in fact you're on it right now. So what exactly IS the internet you're wondering? Well the internet is a series of tubes...

What is the internet? How does it work?

"The Internet is a global network of interconnected computers, enabling users to share information" - Wikipedia

The internet is a public domain, we're all using it and sharing it. For example, say you send a picture to your friend. That information goes from your computer, to your router, to your ISP's router, where it then takes various "hops" along devices until it is properly routed to your friend.