PC Setup Thread

Do you also play with non-PlayStation devices? Do you enjoy playing as a plumber saving a princess? Or some bald marines? Or maybe you want to play using the touchscreen?
Post Reply
User avatar
DonKB-PSX
Novastorm
Novastorm
Posts: 797
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 6:32 pm
PSN ID: DonKB-PSX
Location: May sariling mundo!

Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:29 pm

Five more editions are coming to Windows 10
Microsoft is at it again, they will be expanding the number of existing Windows 10 editions, Microsoft is going to bring five more variants for home users. Here are the key changes and how they will be licensed and priced.

The Redmond software giant is currently working on no less than five new editions which extend the Windows 10 Home family and seems to be tied to hardware specifications. The new (and now totally confusing) editions you can see listed below. It is totally unclear how Windows itself differs from the new versions, other than is being compatible with a certain hardware level:

Entry
Value
Core
Core+
Advanced

I mentioned hardware requirement, as Microsoft is preparing different system requirements for each edition. Entry and Value SKUs will be targeted for Atom and Celeron-based devices with a maximum of 4 GB of RAM, while the new Advanced edition would require Intel Core i9 and Core i7 CPUs reports website winaero. Below you can see an overview of the versions versus hardware specs:

Entry: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium ≤ 4 GB RAM & ≤ 32 GB SSD AND ≤ 14.1" screen size (NB), ≤ 11.6" (2in1, Tablet), ≥ 17" AiO

Value: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium ≤ 4 GB RAM & ≤ 64GB SSD & ≤ 14.1" screen size (EM ≤ 4 GB RAM & ≤ 64GB SSD or ≤ 500 GB HDD)

Core: Cannot be used on devices that meet the Core+ and Advanced SKU Hardware Specifications

Core +: High end CPU and >4 GB RAM (All Form Factors) ≥8 GB RAM & ≥1080p screen resolution (NB, 2in1, AiO) >8 GB RAM & ≥2 TB HDD or SSD storage (Desktop)

Advanced: Intel Core i9 (any configuration) OR Core i7 ≥ 6 Cores (any RAM) OR AMD Threadripper(any configuration) OR Intel Core i7 >16 GB (any Cores) or AMD FX/ Ryzen7 >16 GB (any Cores) OR ≥ 4K screen resolution (any processor, includes 4K UHD-3840 resolution

Pricing for the SKUs is as follows: Advanced ($101), Core + ($86.66), Core ($65.45), Value ($45), and Entry ($25). In other news, Microsoft is canceling Windows 10 S as a separate edition. Instead, there will be 'S mode', which can be enabled for any edition. When in S mode, Windows 10 will be restricted to running apps downloaded from the Store only. The new Windows 10 SKUs will be available to partners starting in April 2018.
SOURCE: http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/five-m ... ws-10.html
Hello, sound check / mic test....

PSN I.D. - DonKB-PSX
PS4 "Amateur" (CUH-1106A) - June 5, 2015 to Present
User avatar
Daniel
Primal Rage
Primal Rage
Posts: 19057
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 12:54 pm
PSN ID: Bobo-Bambano
Location: Monaco

Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:45 pm

i5 lang CPU ko sa hanggang Core lang ako? :lol:
Image
PSN ID: Bobo-Bambano (US), Hunghunk (Asian SG), imajackiechanfan (Asian HK)
User avatar
ChardPurple
Double Dragon
Double Dragon
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:44 pm
PSN ID: chard_newfag

Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:09 pm

That #@*^ is ridiculous. If that materializes, then ill just wait for a custom modded Windows 10.

Edit: Also, my recent μATX build (bought before GPU price surge recently):

Image
Last edited by ChardPurple on Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Now Playing: Tekken 7, Gwent: Homecoming (PC), Detroit: Become Human (PS4), Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (Switch)

"Substance over style, quality over quantity, practicality over idealism."
User avatar
parlorista
PlayStation
PlayStation
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:24 pm

Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:37 pm

advise lang po kung anong setup pwede po sa amin.
kasi po walang air-con.
User avatar
DonKB-PSX
Novastorm
Novastorm
Posts: 797
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 6:32 pm
PSN ID: DonKB-PSX
Location: May sariling mundo!

Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:32 am

parlorista wrote:
Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:37 pm
advise lang po kung anong setup pwede po sa amin.
kasi po walang air-con.
Hi! Wala ring airconditioner sa amin kasi nasa sala yung PC. Make sure you leave some space for the vents to breathe and have proper airflow inside the case. (usually in-take sa front at palabas yung hot air sa likod at top ng case). Proper cable management also helps. :)

In other PC "news"....




AMD issues support bulletin on 2nd gen Ryzen compatibility
AMD has issued a bulletin to provide support to users of its AM4 platform who are having difficulty booting a system equipped with one of the 2nd Generation Ryzen desktop processors. More specifically, a number of users have contacted AMD as they have bought one of the new Ryzen 5 2400G and Ryzen 3 2200G processors and paired it with an AM4 motherboard only to find its 'impossible' to get the system up and running.

In its description of the problem AMD seeks to soften the predicament by saying how the AM4 platform has been "designed to be a long life, fully featured, scalable solution with support for multiple processors, with varying capabilities." AM4 has been around since early 2017 so it is not surprising, it is inferred, that some newly released processors will cause operational wrinkles on boards without the latest BIOS. It is all down to the "rapid pace of innovation", says AMD - and who doesn't want that?

As seasoned PC builders would have already concluded, "the boot up issue likely means a system is running an early BIOS that does not have support for newer processors". This could easily happen with a new old-stock motherboard purchased, perhaps at a bargain price, used with a shiny new AMD Ryzen 5 2400G or Ryzen 3 2200G, for a new build.

First try these solutions:

Your location and what other computer parts you might have on your shelf determine the workaround you will have to take, if you find yourself in the above predicament. The easiest option, with little or no shoe-leather cost, is if you are installing the new 2nd gen Ryzen in place of an earlier processor - then you can make sure your motherboard BIOS is up to date before you switch to the new processor.

AMD would like you next to try and get an update from the retailer. It says "check with the retailer to see if they can facilitate the BIOS update at their location." That might or might not be convenient but will likely incur time/travel/postage costs. If the retailer isn't responsive, or it's just not an option for some reason, AMD suggests that next you should try the motherboard maker direct, who "will support affected end users with an RMA exchange for a compatible motherboard, upon request."

Boot kit solution, posted from AMD

Lastly, if the above options are exhausted AMD says it will "provide affected and qualified users a boot kit to perform the BIOS update on their motherboard". This free-of-charge service offered through AMD warranty services requires you to visit https://support.amd.com/en-us/warranty/rma and fill in the web forms with the description of the problem entered as 'Boot kit Required' (without quotes). Before you go to that page jot down your product name, part number, and serial number ready to be filled in.

[The HEXUS experience

The Editor told me that he came face to face with the above failure to boot issue when he began testing one of the 2nd gen Ryzen processors on the Aorus AX370 Gaming 5. Luckily HEXUS does have a few first gen AMD Ryzen chips in the office, so it wasn't a great difficulty to pop one in to upgrade from the Gigabyte F8 BIOS to the latest F10 release (dated 8th Dec 2017, and since superseded by BIOS F20 and F21) for the board.
The tl;dr version: Most probable cause is buying the latest Ryzen processors together with old-stock mobos with outdated drivers.

SOURCE: http://www.hexus.net/tech/news/mainboar ... atibility/
Hello, sound check / mic test....

PSN I.D. - DonKB-PSX
PS4 "Amateur" (CUH-1106A) - June 5, 2015 to Present
User avatar
Tibarn
Primal Rage
Primal Rage
Posts: 15881
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:21 pm
PSN ID: jhai_radikz
Location: Valenzuela City

Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:07 pm

...my solution ba kayo sa everytime i open my pc, yung disk usage nya umaabot ng 100% kahit wala pang nakabukas? siguro 10-15mins ganun tapos mag stable na sya hanggang sa next na pag open ko.

...ayoko muna i format, btw naka win 10 ako.
Image
Currently Playing:
PS3: none Switch: SMO, NBA2K18, XC2, Bayonetta1&2, DBFz, SMBU
PS4: GoW,FF15, RE7 FC: SW-8583-1421-4426
User avatar
Daniel
Primal Rage
Primal Rage
Posts: 19057
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 12:54 pm
PSN ID: Bobo-Bambano
Location: Monaco

Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:02 am

ganyan din windows 10 ko. sinubukan ko lang mag-close ng ilang background programs na alam kong hindi ko ginagamit, tulad ng auto update ng apple (for itunes)
Image
PSN ID: Bobo-Bambano (US), Hunghunk (Asian SG), imajackiechanfan (Asian HK)
User avatar
ChardPurple
Double Dragon
Double Dragon
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:44 pm
PSN ID: chard_newfag

Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:49 am

Ilang GB ang RAM mo? Mag disable ka ng mga auto-startup na programs na hindi naman kailangan like Skype, iTunes etc.
Image

Now Playing: Tekken 7, Gwent: Homecoming (PC), Detroit: Become Human (PS4), Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (Switch)

"Substance over style, quality over quantity, practicality over idealism."
User avatar
Tibarn
Primal Rage
Primal Rage
Posts: 15881
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:21 pm
PSN ID: jhai_radikz
Location: Valenzuela City

Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:12 pm

...8gb hyperx fury. try ko nga kung meron, pero parang alam ko wala akong skype and itunes.
Image
Currently Playing:
PS3: none Switch: SMO, NBA2K18, XC2, Bayonetta1&2, DBFz, SMBU
PS4: GoW,FF15, RE7 FC: SW-8583-1421-4426
User avatar
ChardPurple
Double Dragon
Double Dragon
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:44 pm
PSN ID: chard_newfag

Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:26 pm

Ito try mo sa Chrome. Settings > Show Advanced Settings ... > Privacy > Check "Prefetch resources to load pages more quickly". Pag di nakuha baka may Malware na PC mo.
Image

Now Playing: Tekken 7, Gwent: Homecoming (PC), Detroit: Become Human (PS4), Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (Switch)

"Substance over style, quality over quantity, practicality over idealism."
User avatar
parlorista
PlayStation
PlayStation
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:24 pm

Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:01 pm

DonKB-PSX wrote:
Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:32 am
parlorista wrote:
Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:37 pm
advise lang po kung anong setup pwede po sa amin.
kasi po walang air-con.
Hi! Wala ring airconditioner sa amin kasi nasa sala yung PC. Make sure you leave some space for the vents to breathe and have proper airflow inside the case. (usually in-take sa front at palabas yung hot air sa likod at top ng case). Proper cable management also helps. :)
salamat po sir. so lalagyan ko ng agwat ang pader pati CPUpati dapat kahilera o malayo sa cpu yung monitor.

dapat ko bang hindi ilagay yung takip ng cpu case?
User avatar
Tibarn
Primal Rage
Primal Rage
Posts: 15881
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:21 pm
PSN ID: jhai_radikz
Location: Valenzuela City

Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:33 pm

...lagyan mo ng fan, 3 ilagay mo. 2-inwards, 1-outward? Ganun sa akin walang aircon, di naman nag overheat, and stable vcard nya.
Image
Currently Playing:
PS3: none Switch: SMO, NBA2K18, XC2, Bayonetta1&2, DBFz, SMBU
PS4: GoW,FF15, RE7 FC: SW-8583-1421-4426
User avatar
ChardPurple
Double Dragon
Double Dragon
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:44 pm
PSN ID: chard_newfag

Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:31 am

parlorista wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:01 pm
salamat po sir. so lalagyan ko ng agwat ang pader pati CPUpati dapat kahilera o malayo sa cpu yung monitor.

dapat ko bang hindi ilagay yung takip ng cpu case?
Maglagay ka lang ng kaunting space para makahinga yung mga fans ng PC mo. And ilagay mo yung cover ng case, aalikabukin lang ang parts mo pag iniwan mong bukas yan. Worse, pasukin pa ng daga yan.

In case you aren't familiar, napaka-efficient na ng mga PC components ngayon na hindi mo kailangang mag-alala na mag-overheat yan especially for lower end parts. Kahit na sumablay ka sa setup (like nakalimutan mong ilagay yung CPU cooler) mag-tthrottle lang yan para hindi mag self-destruct. Mas mataas pa power consumption ng mga incandescent bulbs kumpara sa mga non-load use na modern entry level PC.
Image

Now Playing: Tekken 7, Gwent: Homecoming (PC), Detroit: Become Human (PS4), Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (Switch)

"Substance over style, quality over quantity, practicality over idealism."
User avatar
Tibarn
Primal Rage
Primal Rage
Posts: 15881
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:21 pm
PSN ID: jhai_radikz
Location: Valenzuela City

Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:19 pm

...kelangan mo lang ata i aircon pag mag overclocked ka.
Image
Currently Playing:
PS3: none Switch: SMO, NBA2K18, XC2, Bayonetta1&2, DBFz, SMBU
PS4: GoW,FF15, RE7 FC: SW-8583-1421-4426
User avatar
ChardPurple
Double Dragon
Double Dragon
Posts: 860
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:44 pm
PSN ID: chard_newfag

Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:13 pm

Tibarn wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:19 pm
...kelangan mo lang ata i aircon pag mag overclocked ka.
99% of the time, nope. The 1% is if you're using power hungry components like i9 AND if your components are thermally limited (newer ones are mostly voltage limited).
Image

Now Playing: Tekken 7, Gwent: Homecoming (PC), Detroit: Become Human (PS4), Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (Switch)

"Substance over style, quality over quantity, practicality over idealism."
User avatar
DonKB-PSX
Novastorm
Novastorm
Posts: 797
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 6:32 pm
PSN ID: DonKB-PSX
Location: May sariling mundo!

Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:02 am

Nasabi na ng iba yung mga useful tips so I guess you're all set. :thumbsup: :) Kung makakabili ka na lang din siguro ng filter, do so para iwas alikabok (or at least minimize) sa loob ng chassis. Pero usually kasama na iyon sa ibang mga decent cases.
Hello, sound check / mic test....

PSN I.D. - DonKB-PSX
PS4 "Amateur" (CUH-1106A) - June 5, 2015 to Present
User avatar
DonKB-PSX
Novastorm
Novastorm
Posts: 797
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 6:32 pm
PSN ID: DonKB-PSX
Location: May sariling mundo!

Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:44 pm

For those concerned about dust build-up, this video shows interesting conclusions depending on the fan setup.

1 Year Airflow Experiment - The Stunning Conclusion

Hello, sound check / mic test....

PSN I.D. - DonKB-PSX
PS4 "Amateur" (CUH-1106A) - June 5, 2015 to Present
User avatar
DonKB-PSX
Novastorm
Novastorm
Posts: 797
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 6:32 pm
PSN ID: DonKB-PSX
Location: May sariling mundo!

Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:59 pm



Had buy a new PSU for my home PC. Bigla-biglang namamatay na lang kasi. Ipapatingin ko na lang sa kakilala ko kung mare-remedyohan pa yung gamit kong 600W na Silverstone. Ang nakakainis lang din panay naka reserve daw yung mga PSU sa MoA branch ng PCX kaya 400W lang nabili ko. (Merong 800-ish Watts pero lalampas ng P7k na! :facepalm: )

Napansin ko rin marami silang naka display na 1080 at 1070 cards sa releasing section nila. I'm guessing marami pa rin ang nag crypto mining. So I'm guessing medyo inflated pa rin presyo ng mga video cards sa atin? I remember na mga P7k to P8k lang yung 1050 Ti. Ngayon yata mahina na ang P10k. :facepalm: Lol... Haaayzzz... At this rate, baka hindi na rin ako makapag "mid-range" PC gaming man lang. :cry:
Hello, sound check / mic test....

PSN I.D. - DonKB-PSX
PS4 "Amateur" (CUH-1106A) - June 5, 2015 to Present
User avatar
Daniel
Primal Rage
Primal Rage
Posts: 19057
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 12:54 pm
PSN ID: Bobo-Bambano
Location: Monaco

Sat Apr 14, 2018 7:28 pm

No idea sa mga current prices ng PC parts pero sibrang mahal nung 800 watts na PSU a.
Image
PSN ID: Bobo-Bambano (US), Hunghunk (Asian SG), imajackiechanfan (Asian HK)
User avatar
sib
Beyond the Beyond
Beyond the Beyond
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:48 pm

Fri Apr 20, 2018 11:30 pm

Here's the HTPC/data hoarder PC that I built last December.


Parts list
CPU: i3-7100
MOBO: MSI H270M mortar arctic
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 16GB
SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
HDD: WD Red 4TB x 3
HDD: Seagate BarraCuda 1TB
ODD: Pioneer BDR-S09XLB
PSU: Corsair RM750i -> Corsair AX860i
GPU: MSI GT730
CASE: Fractal Design R5
Monitor (side panel): old 17" Dell monitor (4:3)
LED strip: Silverstone LS02 x3

This was supposed to be a budget HTPC build (excluding the 4TB HDDs), but I went over my budget mainly 'cause of the CPU, RAM, ODD and PSU.

Some Comments/Notes on the Parts
CPU: I actually was just looking to use a G4560 since the intended use is HTPC that can handle one or two VMs, but none of the stores, where I'm living, had any of the Pentium CPUs capable of hyper-threading.
RAM: I still can't believe they're so expensive compared to 2-3 years ago.
Motherboard: First of all, it's white/silver, which is what I need to be able to see what's on the monitor. I don't like the audio quality coming from this board. I actually had to use a USB DAC just to check that it wasn't my rip that sounded bad.
HDD: Do NOT use the PS4's stock HDD for VM use.
CASE: Quiet. Has dust filters everywhere (except the back).
Monitor The monitor's screen is an almost exact fit with the window of the R5.
PSU: I wanted a white PSU, but couldn't wait for an order from Amazon to arrive. The RM750i was working at first, and then I tried to use some white cables from CableMod aaaaaaaand so I went back to the store, but that was the last stock.
Currently Playing
PS4:
PSV:
PC: Flowers -Le Volume sur Printemps-, The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel
Post Reply