PlayStation Network Help Thread

Let's talk about anything about video games, no matter what platform it is. What is your favorite game? Who is your favorite character? What are the recently released games? What is DLC (downloadable content)? How do I beat this boss? How do I set up my team?
Post Reply
jonick
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:18 am

Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:46 am

i need help using the ps3 network. i just conncted a wireless router from my pc. now while using it on my ps3 internet semms to run slower than in the pc a lot slower especially when opening photos. and when i tried opening my email at yahoo my mail it asks for a password and username(w/c is normal) and after that it looks for a device to where i want to save it... which i dont understand i tried saving it then the same thing happens when you click my mail it still asks where you want to save it. it wont open to where i want to view my messages. pls. help. is there also any setting i need to adjust on my ps3 or on pmy pc? thank you
User avatar
shijirou
Aquanaut's Holiday
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:26 pm
PSN ID: mega_dranix
Location: Black Spot
Contact:

Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:45 pm

jonick wrote:i need help using the ps3 network. i just conncted a wireless router from my pc. now while using it on my ps3 internet semms to run slower than in the pc a lot slower especially when opening photos. and when i tried opening my email at yahoo my mail it asks for a password and username(w/c is normal) and after that it looks for a device to where i want to save it... which i dont understand i tried saving it then the same thing happens when you click my mail it still asks where you want to save it. it wont open to where i want to view my messages. pls. help. is there also any setting i need to adjust on my ps3 or on pmy pc? thank you
I'm connected thru a wireless router too but my net is fast like my wired net. As for sharing photos, music and videos, I don't know what you did but I'm able to share it without any problems on my PC. I have Windows Vista so I can setup a media server easily that the PS3 can detect. On XP just install windows media player 11.

Here are some instructions: http://manuals.playstation.net/document ... tdlna.html

As for your email problem. I've yet to use email myself on my PS3. Perhaps someone else has experience on this? Anyone guys?
Where will I be, where will you be when I hear the last beating of my heart?
Play the games, not the consoles...
User avatar
darkwing_uop
PlayStation
Posts: 24512
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:53 am
PSN ID: darkwing75
Location: Cebu

Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:07 am

jonick wrote:i need help using the ps3 network. i just conncted a wireless router from my pc. now while using it on my ps3 internet semms to run slower than in the pc a lot slower especially when opening photos. and when i tried opening my email at yahoo my mail it asks for a password and username(w/c is normal) and after that it looks for a device to where i want to save it... which i dont understand i tried saving it then the same thing happens when you click my mail it still asks where you want to save it. it wont open to where i want to view my messages. pls. help. is there also any setting i need to adjust on my ps3 or on pmy pc? thank you
hmmm did u try the classic view on the yahoo mail?
jonick
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:18 am

Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:34 am

i could not find a classic view option
jonick
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:18 am

Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:36 am

any adjustments to be made on the router settings to match it with the ps3? even online game with nba 2k8 im connected but i cant play with others
User avatar
shijirou
Aquanaut's Holiday
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:26 pm
PSN ID: mega_dranix
Location: Black Spot
Contact:

Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:03 pm

jonick wrote:any adjustments to be made on the router settings to match it with the ps3? even online game with nba 2k8 im connected but i cant play with others
Sounds like a port forwarding / NAT problem. Try disabling the firewalls or any port blocks on your router's settings.
Where will I be, where will you be when I hear the last beating of my heart?
Play the games, not the consoles...
User avatar
donz
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:07 pm
PSN ID: DonzTM
Location: Venice
Contact:

Sat Jan 12, 2008 7:33 pm

what do i have to do to download ps3 games in the playstation network?
is pldt dsl fast enough for downloading ps3 games and online gaming?
what credit cards are accepted in playstation network? is equitable accepted?
PSN id: DonzTM (US)
PSN id: aabaddonz (HK)


Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/donly.ali
gearsofwar_fallofman
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:05 pm

Sat Jan 12, 2008 7:50 pm

you have to make an account sa psn. Yes, pldt is fast enough to download games and online gaming, get the plan 999, 1mbps. Local credit cards are not accepted.
[BRIAN]
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:29 pm

Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:00 pm

donz wrote:what do i have to do to download ps3 games in the playstation network?
is pldt dsl fast enough for downloading ps3 games and online gaming?
what credit cards are accepted in playstation network? is equitable accepted?
eto si archangel aka paul txt mo 09228806841 pa dl ka sa kanya kaso may bayad
User avatar
nels76
Philosoma
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 11:15 am
PSN ID: fronell
Location: St Andrew's Field
Contact:

Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:11 am

I own a Citibank Mastercard and a Metrobank Visa Card.
Both are issued locally.

I use the Citibank Credit Card when buying games sa PSN and succesful naman.
add me: PSN ID: fronell
User avatar
Inque
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:34 pm
PSN ID: inque54
Contact:

Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:58 pm

nels76 wrote:I own a Citibank Mastercard and a Metrobank Visa Card.
Both are issued locally.

I use the Citibank Credit Card when buying games sa PSN and succesful naman.

Did you buy stuff off the US PSN store or Asian?
OMGeek.net
A video game community for grown-ups in Southeast Asia

Listen to our Podcast!
User avatar
nels76
Philosoma
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 11:15 am
PSN ID: fronell
Location: St Andrew's Field
Contact:

Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:36 am

sa US po.

Kagabi bumili ako uli ng Game sa US PS Store - It was a Ski game.
add me: PSN ID: fronell
User avatar
Inque
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:34 pm
PSN ID: inque54
Contact:

Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:09 pm

Wow lucky you, I heard that right now if you apply with your citibank card on PSN they won't accept it 8(
OMGeek.net
A video game community for grown-ups in Southeast Asia

Listen to our Podcast!
User avatar
nels76
Philosoma
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 11:15 am
PSN ID: fronell
Location: St Andrew's Field
Contact:

Sat Jan 19, 2008 1:28 pm

Pag re-enter ata ng Billing Address di na i-accept.
Di ko naman inedit address ko ever since kaya acceptable pa din sya.
add me: PSN ID: fronell
User avatar
chilho
Jumping Flash!
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:29 am
PSN ID: chilho
Location: Cebu City
Contact:

Sat Jan 19, 2008 2:01 pm

nels76 wrote:sa US po.

Kagabi bumili ako uli ng Game sa US PS Store - It was a Ski game.
Bro! Paano ka naka bili sa psn US store? you have to register a US address but when you enter a local credit card, nag reject naman. How did you register?
PSN ID: chil_ho
PS3 80gig NTSC-J
TF:ROTF; Prototype; inFamous; RE5; MGS4; KZ2; COD4; Resistance 2; LBP; Uncharted; Assassins Creed; POP; GH 3; World Tour; Valkyria Chronicles; Fallout3; GTA4; Dead Space; Ninja Gaiden; UFC '09; Tiger '09
User avatar
markm7d2
Rapid Reload/Gunners Heaven
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:58 pm

Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:36 pm

Guys question lang, natry nyo na ba mag coop mode using 2 ps3 without using internet connection? kasi what if ganito yung situation:
i decided to go to my friends house with my ps3 tapos meron din sya sarili ps3 or let say i bought another ps3 unit and another lcd tv
tapos icconnect namin yung ps3 sa isat isa using a Lan cable.

pwede ba kami mag coop mode, provided 2 tv namin kahit hindi naka internet?
User avatar
choy
hype lang
Posts: 5280
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 1:21 pm
PSN ID: choyPSX
Location: GM Place, Home of the Canucks
Contact:

Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:53 pm

if there's a software na magkaka kitaan sila. i think PS3s need to go through the PSN to connect to another. not sure kung meron syang adhoc parang PSP

lipat ko lang ito sa Network forum natin
<( )> You have earned a trophy.
_/ \_ Hype lang yan


All form, no substance

PSN ID: choyPSX
Currently playing Gran Turismo 5
User avatar
x--ArchAngeL--x
Gunblade Specialist
Posts: 8022
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:33 pm
PSN ID: x--ArchAngeL--x
Location: Quezon City

Mon Jan 21, 2008 2:40 pm

markm7d2 wrote:Guys question lang, natry nyo na ba mag coop mode using 2 ps3 without using internet connection? kasi what if ganito yung situation:
i decided to go to my friends house with my ps3 tapos meron din sya sarili ps3 or let say i bought another ps3 unit and another lcd tv
tapos icconnect namin yung ps3 sa isat isa using a Lan cable.

pwede ba kami mag coop mode, provided 2 tv namin kahit hindi naka internet?
try using/choosing the LAN game (one unit will create the other unit will join) nakita ko ito sa warhawk and rainbow six vegas it might work... good luck!
Gaming History: Atari, Family Computer, Sega DreamCast, PlayStation, PlayStation 2,
PlayStation Portable, PlayStation 3

PSN: x--ArchAngeL--x
Steam: x--ArchAngeL--x
Origin: pjvg2980
FFXIV: Elson Xelx
User avatar
jsnepo
- Kick this player?
Posts: 6553
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:38 am
PSN ID: jsnepo
Location: Marikina
Contact:

Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:32 am

That'll depend on the game. If the game supports LAN/system link play, then there shouldn't be a problem. Games like Warhawk and Call Of Duty 4 have it.
<(  )>  You have earned a trophy.
_/   \_  PERFECT REVENGEANCE
Getting back without exposing intention.
User avatar
choy
hype lang
Posts: 5280
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 1:21 pm
PSN ID: choyPSX
Location: GM Place, Home of the Canucks
Contact:

Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:43 am

kewlness!
<( )> You have earned a trophy.
_/ \_ Hype lang yan


All form, no substance

PSN ID: choyPSX
Currently playing Gran Turismo 5
User avatar
markm7d2
Rapid Reload/Gunners Heaven
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:58 pm

Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:58 pm

ay ganun.. depende sa game.. sayang.. hehe. sabihin ko nalang sa utol ko bumili nalang ng xbox3rl este 360 instead of another ps3 unit. haha.
maganda sana if there is a software that could mimic the psn network para pwede lan games sa lahat ng games.
User avatar
x--ArchAngeL--x
Gunblade Specialist
Posts: 8022
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:33 pm
PSN ID: x--ArchAngeL--x
Location: Quezon City

Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:58 pm

markm7d2 wrote:ay ganun.. depende sa game.. sayang.. hehe. sabihin ko nalang sa utol ko bumili nalang ng xbox3rl este 360 instead of another ps3 unit. haha.
maganda sana if there is a software that could mimic the psn network para pwede lan games sa lahat ng games.
that would be very impossible kahit sa anong unit [PC/PLAYSTATION/Etc.]hindi pwede yan...
Gaming History: Atari, Family Computer, Sega DreamCast, PlayStation, PlayStation 2,
PlayStation Portable, PlayStation 3

PSN: x--ArchAngeL--x
Steam: x--ArchAngeL--x
Origin: pjvg2980
FFXIV: Elson Xelx
User avatar
kwazy_myk
MediEvil
Posts: 2658
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:07 pm
PSN ID: swoosh_boo
Location: Oregon State, where NIKE and SWOOSH born!
Contact:

Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:08 am

guys ask TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION po kung pwede po ba ito,TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION me internet sa bhy like broadband connection, madalas dial up TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION me tru modem..i wonder kung pwede po ito? or any one have tried it before??
[PHI] - PINOY BARUMBADOS...

[:.*] i..YUM!

PS3 80GB BC - Motorstorm bundle "SOLD"
PS3 40GB - R.I.P
XBOX Elite - LEGIT
PS3 SLIM - Gran Turismo Edition "Titanium Blu"

PSN: swoosh_boo + onezerotwosix
XBL: iamsw00sh
User avatar
jsnepo
- Kick this player?
Posts: 6553
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:38 am
PSN ID: jsnepo
Location: Marikina
Contact:

Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:31 pm

You can share the dial up connection from your PC to your PS3 through Internet Connection Sharing (ICS). I'm not sure if that'll allow you to connect to PS Network.

Anyway, I don't recommend using dial-up for your PS3.

Bakit di mo subukan ang Smart Bro?
<(  )>  You have earned a trophy.
_/   \_  PERFECT REVENGEANCE
Getting back without exposing intention.
User avatar
kwazy_myk
MediEvil
Posts: 2658
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:07 pm
PSN ID: swoosh_boo
Location: Oregon State, where NIKE and SWOOSH born!
Contact:

Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:45 pm

paps thnks po hehehe..TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION paps yung WOrk ko sobra, tho madali TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION yung mga gingawa ko as Program tester,n network admin, 6 days a week, 16 hours a day,imagine dat, kung pwede TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION dalin dito sa office ps3 ko dadalin ko lhat ng nid ko nandito computer maker TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION company ko repair n etc. sunday TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION me nasaa bhay, GF ko pa kasama ko. heheh TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION batukan nko nun, hehehe, pero im think stil thinkin to subscribe din para sa ONLINE gaming..hehehe
[PHI] - PINOY BARUMBADOS...

[:.*] i..YUM!

PS3 80GB BC - Motorstorm bundle "SOLD"
PS3 40GB - R.I.P
XBOX Elite - LEGIT
PS3 SLIM - Gran Turismo Edition "Titanium Blu"

PSN: swoosh_boo + onezerotwosix
XBL: iamsw00sh
Post Reply