Globe Broadband Thread

Let's talk about anything about video games, no matter what platform it is. What is your favorite game? Who is your favorite character? What are the recently released games? What is DLC (downloadable content)? How do I beat this boss? How do I set up my team?
Post Reply
User avatar
jtdcjtdc
Philosoma
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:01 pm
PSN ID: jandelacruz
Location: Kiasu Land
Contact:

Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:28 pm

Hi guys. The modem supplied to me by Globe is a Siemens Speedstream 4200. It can provide internet connection via 2 connectors, USB or ethernet (one at a time).

Can the PS3 utilize that, either thru the USB cable which can be plugged to the PS3 USB port, or an ethernet cable to the PS3 LAN port?

Thanks.
CECHH00ss@4.4 UA32ES6200M PSP3006pb@6.2 PX100-II BOSE MusicMonitor
PinoyPSXers Folding Team ID 56422
PSN id: jandelacruz
User avatar
jsnepo
- Kick this player?
Posts: 6554
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:38 am
PSN ID: jsnepo
Location: Marikina
Contact:

Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:01 am

jtdcjtdc wrote:Hi guys. The modem supplied to me by Globe is a Siemens Speedstream 4200. It can provide internet connection via 2 connectors, USB or ethernet (one at a time).

Can the PS3 utilize that, either thru the USB cable which can be plugged to the PS3 USB port, or an ethernet cable to the PS3 LAN port?

Thanks.
How many ethernet ports does your modem have? It won't work through USB since it will require some drivers.
<(  )>  You have earned a trophy.
_/   \_  PERFECT REVENGEANCE
Getting back without exposing intention.
User avatar
jtdcjtdc
Philosoma
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:01 pm
PSN ID: jandelacruz
Location: Kiasu Land
Contact:

Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:16 pm

Isa lang sir yung ethernet port. Hindi ko sure kung kapag direct connection eh straight LAN cable or cross LAN cable... pero parehas naman ako makakakuha ng ganung cable so ok lang.

I was wondering kung gagana yun sa PS3, pwede naman config ang IP address, etc. nung PS3, right?
CECHH00ss@4.4 UA32ES6200M PSP3006pb@6.2 PX100-II BOSE MusicMonitor
PinoyPSXers Folding Team ID 56422
PSN id: jandelacruz
User avatar
jsnepo
- Kick this player?
Posts: 6554
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:38 am
PSN ID: jsnepo
Location: Marikina
Contact:

Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:52 pm

You can directly connect it to your PS3 but you won't be able to use the connection through other means like your PC at the same time.
<(  )>  You have earned a trophy.
_/   \_  PERFECT REVENGEANCE
Getting back without exposing intention.
User avatar
x--ArchAngeL--x
Gunblade Specialist
Posts: 8022
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:33 pm
PSN ID: x--ArchAngeL--x
Location: Quezon City

Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:03 pm

you may try to plug it sa router via lan cable for you to be able to use your ps3 and pc in the internet (just an assumption)...
Gaming History: Atari, Family Computer, Sega DreamCast, PlayStation, PlayStation 2,
PlayStation Portable, PlayStation 3

PSN: x--ArchAngeL--x
Steam: x--ArchAngeL--x
Origin: pjvg2980
FFXIV: Elson Xelx
User avatar
jsnepo
- Kick this player?
Posts: 6554
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:38 am
PSN ID: jsnepo
Location: Marikina
Contact:

Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:35 pm

Or if your modem can act as a router, just get yourself a switch. Not a hub, but a switch.
<(  )>  You have earned a trophy.
_/   \_  PERFECT REVENGEANCE
Getting back without exposing intention.
User avatar
japoyy
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:15 pm
Contact:

Sun Feb 10, 2008 1:31 pm

mga bro mag tanung TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION ako abt globe broadband connection nyu...ok ba? TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION i am thinking of getting broadband na. pero di ko pa alam kng dsl or globe kunin ko. sabi ng iba best daw dsl...but dto sa village ko, medyo nagkaka problem daw. so i wanna ask about globe. meron TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION dto sa village namin nagpapa free connection. monthly TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION babayaran mo...di n yng fee for the modem. pero mixed ang feedback ko nakukuha sa globe broadband eh. kaya i wanna ask mga plyers dto hehe.
User avatar
jsnepo
- Kick this player?
Posts: 6554
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:38 am
PSN ID: jsnepo
Location: Marikina
Contact:

Mon Feb 11, 2008 1:28 am

That'll really depend on your location. Sa Marikina, maayos ang Globelines.
<(  )>  You have earned a trophy.
_/   \_  PERFECT REVENGEANCE
Getting back without exposing intention.
User avatar
japoyy
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:15 pm
Contact:

Mon Feb 11, 2008 10:03 am

ah ganun ba. hmmm. edi tanugnin natin mga globe users ng paranaque hehe. musta naman performance ng globe broadband sa paglalaru nyu?
stippy
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:45 pm
PSN ID: stippy
Location: Batangas

Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:07 pm

ako nasa batangas city. okay naman ang globe dsl dito for online games sa PS3. (pati na rin para sa online games dun sa "the other console") :)
PS3: R6 Vegas, Ninja Gaiden Sigma, Folklore, NBA 2K8, NHL 2K7, Eye of Judgement, Resistance Fall of Man, Rockband, Heavenly Sword

Looking for:Unchartered, DMC4


PSN ID: stip001
User avatar
PrinceAL
Beyond The Beyond
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:52 pm

Wed Feb 13, 2008 7:16 pm

stippy wrote:ako nasa batangas city. okay naman ang globe dsl dito for online games sa PS3. (pati na rin para sa online games dun sa "the other console") :)
Sa batangas din ako. Also a Globe users pero hayup lagi nalang na eeror kapag naglalaro ako ng NBA 2k8 hayup talaga. Btw, meron akong uncharted R3 brand new sealed. Gusto mo b
PROFILE

NBA ELITE

PSN ID: AlChrist09

69
User avatar
ericem
Rapid Reload/Gunners Heaven
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:09 am
PSN ID: ericem8300
Location: Pasig City
Contact:

Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:38 pm

TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION ko pasig. ok nman globe except nung una naming signup... laging walang dialtone TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION fone tska nadidisconnect TEXT SPEAK VIOLATION DSL. pero for the past 2 months ok na.
PSN ID: ericem8300
jeyps11_c
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:23 pm

Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:09 pm

Makati are ako...ok din ang dsl ng globelines.
Ang mas ok para sa aking sa Globe DSL comapred to others (PLDT) at ang aftersales service.
Kung itawag mo sa kanila pag may problema troubleshoot nila over the phone. Pag hindi ma-solve papadala ng tech agad.
User avatar
marktroy
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:59 am
PSN ID: DrakeSnakeEyes
Location: Makati City & Eastwood City, Libis, Q.C.
Contact:

Fri Feb 29, 2008 11:57 am

I just need your inputs regarding this:
I have a Globe Wireless Broadband connection but I don't know how to set it up to play NBA 2K8 online. Thanks for your help in advance!
PSN ID: DrakeSnakeEyes
User avatar
jtdcjtdc
Philosoma
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:01 pm
PSN ID: jandelacruz
Location: Kiasu Land
Contact:

Sun Jun 08, 2008 10:08 pm

Meron bang technique para mapabilis ang online pag naka Globelines? napansin ko kasi pag GTAIV online, bumibitiw ang connection (kahit sa PSN hindi naman nasa-signout). Sa GRID naman, pag andami players say, more than 8 in one at track, malaki possibility ng lag while racing, napapa-hang ang PS3. Sa Burnout Paradise demo, ni-hindi maka-online. Matino lang sa TimeShift demo (may occasional disconnect pero bihira lang).

Meron bang "non-standard" na pwede gawin pag Globe connected? Like meron bang pwedeng i-set na proxy or something?

Thanks for any ideas.
CECHH00ss@4.4 UA32ES6200M PSP3006pb@6.2 PX100-II BOSE MusicMonitor
PinoyPSXers Folding Team ID 56422
PSN id: jandelacruz
User avatar
Bolshoie
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 7:03 pm
Location: Harte Hanks Manila
Contact:

Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:17 pm

have you tried port forwarding or DMZ'ed your PS3?
PlayStation 3 60GB NTSC-U
Nintendo Wii

Nintendo DS
-Certified Nintendoid-
Know your role...Stop Videogame Piracy

PSN ID : Bolshoie
User avatar
jtdcjtdc
Philosoma
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:01 pm
PSN ID: jandelacruz
Location: Kiasu Land
Contact:

Tue Jun 10, 2008 1:31 am

Tried setting up port forwarding (on documented PSN TCP and UDP ports), PS3 still detects NAT3.

Tried setting DMZ, PS3 still detects NAT3.

Maybe this Siemens Speedstream 4200 is protected or maybe needing replacement (far fetched solution).
CECHH00ss@4.4 UA32ES6200M PSP3006pb@6.2 PX100-II BOSE MusicMonitor
PinoyPSXers Folding Team ID 56422
PSN id: jandelacruz
User avatar
Bolshoie
Motor Toon Grand Prix
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 7:03 pm
Location: Harte Hanks Manila
Contact:

Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:59 am

yung saken kasi prolink h9200 bigay sakin (wired) sa totoo lang perwisyo lang sya dahil nakakalito na router/modem na sya tapos may nakakabit pa sa kanyang wireless router, nat3 din ako....Kapag media sharing ok gumagana pero pag coconnect ko na for downloads and online play kailangan wired na from the prolink to the ps3
PlayStation 3 60GB NTSC-U
Nintendo Wii

Nintendo DS
-Certified Nintendoid-
Know your role...Stop Videogame Piracy

PSN ID : Bolshoie
User avatar
jtdcjtdc
Philosoma
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:01 pm
PSN ID: jandelacruz
Location: Kiasu Land
Contact:

Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:39 am

Definitely wired is the way to go as long as you have an option. Wired is often superior to wireless, reason being the PS3 console is NOT mobile. The Speedstream 4200 can be tinkered at

http://192.168.254.254

I'm looking for ways how this can work up to NAT2 or DMZ but for now it seems odd, the PS3 still says NAT3 whatever setting of port fwd and DMZ I do with its IP.
CECHH00ss@4.4 UA32ES6200M PSP3006pb@6.2 PX100-II BOSE MusicMonitor
PinoyPSXers Folding Team ID 56422
PSN id: jandelacruz
User avatar
jsnepo
- Kick this player?
Posts: 6554
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:38 am
PSN ID: jsnepo
Location: Marikina
Contact:

Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:14 pm

Did you statically assigned an IP address to your PS3?
<(  )>  You have earned a trophy.
_/   \_  PERFECT REVENGEANCE
Getting back without exposing intention.
User avatar
jtdcjtdc
Philosoma
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:01 pm
PSN ID: jandelacruz
Location: Kiasu Land
Contact:

Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:42 pm

Yes static na siya 192.168.254.x na IP address, and this IP is configured for port forwarding of mentioned TCP and UDP ports, plus defined as DMZ na din. Kaya lang seems the PS3 don't recognize it, ni-hindi man lang mag above NAT3.

Pag nabuwisit ako papapalit ko ito sa Globe.
CECHH00ss@4.4 UA32ES6200M PSP3006pb@6.2 PX100-II BOSE MusicMonitor
PinoyPSXers Folding Team ID 56422
PSN id: jandelacruz
User avatar
jsnepo
- Kick this player?
Posts: 6554
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:38 am
PSN ID: jsnepo
Location: Marikina
Contact:

Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:26 am

Remove port forwarding. You already have DMZ set anyway.

Try to request for the H9300G modem. That's what I'm using.
<(  )>  You have earned a trophy.
_/   \_  PERFECT REVENGEANCE
Getting back without exposing intention.
User avatar
jtdcjtdc
Philosoma
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:01 pm
PSN ID: jandelacruz
Location: Kiasu Land
Contact:

Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:00 pm

Ah yes tried removing port fwd and DMZ lang, same thing, no change in what PS3 can detect. Yang modem mo Prolink H9300G ba? Wala kang problem ba, can you DMZ your PS3 as in NAT 1 connection? Thanks!
CECHH00ss@4.4 UA32ES6200M PSP3006pb@6.2 PX100-II BOSE MusicMonitor
PinoyPSXers Folding Team ID 56422
PSN id: jandelacruz
User avatar
jsnepo
- Kick this player?
Posts: 6554
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:38 am
PSN ID: jsnepo
Location: Marikina
Contact:

Mon Jun 16, 2008 7:55 am

jtdcjtdc wrote:Ah yes tried removing port fwd and DMZ lang, same thing, no change in what PS3 can detect. Yang modem mo Prolink H9300G ba? Wala kang problem ba, can you DMZ your PS3 as in NAT 1 connection? Thanks!
NAT 2 is better. And yes, no problems with the H9300G so far.
<(  )>  You have earned a trophy.
_/   \_  PERFECT REVENGEANCE
Getting back without exposing intention.
User avatar
PrinceAL
Beyond The Beyond
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:52 pm

Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:38 am

Mga sir help.

Naka globe broadband kami. tapos dati naka NAT2 naman yung sa PS3 ko tapos nung simula ko nag update sa 2.35 naging NAT3 na. pano ba gawing NAT2?

Thanks!
Last edited by PrinceAL on Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PROFILE

NBA ELITE

PSN ID: AlChrist09

69
Post Reply